Word of 2015: Nurture

NURTURE

Today’s post is inspired by Susannah Conway’s Unravelling workbook.  I’ve been using it for two years, 2013/2014 and 2014/2015. The thing I actually love about it is that it gives you the chance to deeply unravel things and feelings of the year before, creating a thoughtful, ready, canvas for the year ahead. The best thing of the whole program, for me, is the word of the year. It’s more general than a resolution, and more achievable than a list of goals. It’s a sort of guide. My 2014’s word was Explore, as I felt the need to learn how to get in touch with new places and new people, with new parts of myself. I spent a whole year saying “yes”, not worrying about being good enough.

This year I chose Nurture: I’ve been searching for it for a couple of weeks, thought about it, considered a couple of other words (Restore, Open), and then chose that one again. Why Nurture? To me, it means feeling nourishment for mind, body, and soul. It has to do with finding, creating, fulfilling, eliciting. It gives me the idea of something intimate, personal, deep, and something that addresses others, all at once. I’m in need to find strength, vulnerability, calmness and emotional focus, this year. I need them to prioritize my time and my energy.

Nurturing, at the same time, it’s turning out to be quite struggling, for me. As a perfectionist-and-always-busy person, I’m not used to calm down and enjoy some totally free time. Maybe you know what I mean! That’s why I made an inspirational board on Pinterest, to remind myself what I actually need, apart from job, relationships and everyday life issues. If you’d like to join me on the board, feel free to drop a line and I’ll invite you to pin!

Answer

